The Taj Mahal voted as New Seven Wonders of the World

On 7th July 2007, HISTORY was rewritten – The Taj Mahal was voted as one of New Open World Corporation’s New Seven Wonders of the World. The New7Wonders organization is happy to announce the following 7 candidates have been elected to represent global heritage throughout history.

India’s Taj Mahal, the Great Wall of China, Jordan’s Petra, Brazil’s statue of Christ Redeemer, Peru’s Machu Picchu, Mexico’s Chichen Itza pyramid and the Colosseum in Rome have now replaced the original wonders, most of which have long since vanished into the mists of time.

The Taj is most famous architectural achievement of Mughal India; originally built as a mausoleum for the wife of Shah Jahan, Mumtaz Mahal. You can learn more about The Taj Mahal here.
The Taj Mahal voted as New Seven Wonders of the World
It is located in Agra, India and open to visit every day 7AM to 7PM except on Friday.

Original 7 wonders

The other original wonders, all since destroyed, were:

  • The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • The statue of Zeus at Olympia
  • The temple of Artemis at Ephesus
  • The mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  • The Colossus of Rhodes
  • The lighthouse of Alexandria

I’m quite happy :)

Author: admin

I like chocolate, gadgets, open source software, photography, traveling and all shades of green colors. I love spending time with fun loving friends and family members. This is my own online journal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *